Just what is Hi-Rez Studios up to?

I decided to take a break from Freelancer, which usually means I probably won’t play it again for several months.  It’s weird how I can go on a Freelancer streak for days, then suddenly lose all interest in the game.  Sad, but true.  Anyways, I’ve recently put my internet sleuthing skills to use, something I haven’t done since the InstantAction days.  I’m actually using the same sources for gathering my information, since I can’t really think of anything else to use(other than a lock pick).  My first little nugget of info came to me when I wasn’t even looking.  Apparently, Hi-Rez Studios registered the domain TribesAscend.com on February 3rd, 2011.  As of now it simply redirects to the Global Agenda website.

After acquiring the Tribes IP back in October of 2010 and announcing Tribes Universe, could Hi-Rez be making another Tribes game?  Ascend is a bit of a mystery at this point, because Hi-Rez haven’t registered the trademark ‘Tribes Ascend’ yet.  However, they have registered the name Smite back on February 9th.  Not too long ago it was revealed that Hi-Rez is currently working on a third unknown game.  If I were to take a guess, Smite is the unknown game and they’ll be announcing it sometime soon.  As for Tribes Ascend?  I honestly don’t know.  It’s definitely something.  But what that something means is…well, I just don’t know.  It’d be extremely odd for them to even think about making another Tribes game at this point.  Usually you’d register the trademark and domain name at the same time, but all they’ve done is get the domain.

Time will tell…

(also, they registered the trademark JETPACK FIGHTER back in November.  Dunno wtf that’s about)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

